Hi Im new to OpenHD.. whats the best long range Setup 10-20km

hi Im new to OpenHD… whats the best long range Setup 10-20km … idont mind the size or its weight i just want some ful HD and long range at the same the. hehehhe… anyone have suggestion for the best system…?? please… thanks in advance

Take a look at Norbert’s setup, he uses AC-56 wifi cards, an antenna tracker, and a custom antenna and routinely reports 25KM+ flights.

1 Like

thank you … might check that up

i have experienced using wifi boosters 4000mw two of them on the remote on my DJI mavic pro and the range is improved which is my target … but would you still recommend if i use some boosters on the wifi card and a decent antennas? i cant find anyone uses wifi boosters here on the forum… or any sites… i looked on the supported wifi cards like have listed 50mw 60mw 70mw and 280mw card… would it be nice if i use wifi boosters on them the 4000mw boosters? … or more on the high end side… with 800mw or the asus ac56 500mw cards?. im from philippines. its quite hard to find a specific card for the build… i can only find the low MW card on the online market…
sorry for the english… appreciated the reply… thanks…

and one more thing… is the rasberry pi HQ supported on the openhd???. i have plan to make PTZ on the raspberry pi HQ with the 16mm telephoto lens… manual zoom and apperture.

Yep the HQ camera works.

Hi Yuno_Gasai
In the past, a very common solution was boosting a signal. Generally to get the same effect you can increase the sensitivity of the receiver or boost the transmitted. In boosting problem is in power, because range vs power is sqr relation. to a double range, you need four times more power. If you use a card with 0.7W power by default and want a double range you need 2.8W (in practice around 4W because high frequency has much more lose on the heat in circuits, in comparison to low freq). If you want four times more range … ~16W?