Raspberry pi 4 will not boot

Hello, I am new to this and want to set up OpenHD. Before doing things with all at once, I wanted to test things one at a time. Following the wiki, I downloaded and flashed the 2.0.8 buster image using etcher. It flashed successfully. I have 2 pis setup, one with camera, one without. When I put the fresh SD card, is the pi supposed to boot up to a desktop or command line? All I get is a blank screen. Once I remove the OpenHD SD card the pi shows a video signal. I tried with multiple SD card and redownloaded the image file and same thing.

I’m not sure if I missed something. Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

Hi

Strange behavior indeed.

What you should see is:

AirPi (with camera) boots into a command line and shows some stats about the video it’s sending.

GroundPi Boots into a „Desktop“ with mouse / keyboard / touch Support OSD-Screen with lots of gauches

Sure you have downloaded the .img file and not the source Code ?

Thanks for the reply!

I downloaded this:

I downloaded the buster version as I am using raspberry pi 4. At least I know now they are both supposed to boot up with some kind of video signal. I don’t have an extra wifi dongle attached. I was planning on testing with the internal wifi first or wired if possible. Would that be a problem?

The pis work fine with a raspbian image. It’s just the openHD sd card that has ever caused that behavior for me. Should I try an older version of OpenHD? if so, any version you recommend?

I really appreciate the help!

Here is a link to 2.0.10. Use at own risk. Ot has been reported that the groundpi sometimes crashes.

The crash seems to be related to the adsb sdr feature.

1 Like

I flashed the 2.0.10 version and same thing happens. I’m not sure what could be going wrong. Could it be etcher messing up the flash?

try Open.HD-2.0.8-buster.img. It works for me on PI4. Not tried newer one.
Also, try other hdmi port. The one closer to usb-c works for me.